Closed Thread

Old 04-30-2005, 09:12 AM   #1  

Question Scared to be small?

Let's see If I can try to put it into words. It seems the closer I get to goal I sabatoge myself why? Because I'm scared to be small. IE 2/15 155.6 2/24 -.8 4/5 +.6 4/12 -1 4/19 -.4 4/26 +1

Does that make sense?
Old 04-30-2005, 11:24 AM   #2  

I can totally relate to this, oh boy. I am just starting out in my efforts again, but I have lost significant amounts of weight 2 other times in my life. The more recent of those 2 times I got down to 145 starting from 188, my goal was to get to 130. I remeber the day I stepped on the scale and saw I had dipped down below 150 and it was funny because I can't say I felt good about it, it was more like I was shocked, I never dreamed I would make it that far, it didn't seem real. I was 15 pounds away from my ultimate goal and then everyone really started to notice my weight lose and I was getting all these compliments and my weight lose completely halted. Then I started to feel paniced, then I slowly started gaining. 2 pounds might as well have been 20 for the way it made me feel. I tried to calm myself down but just couldn't regain control. Over the coarse of the next year I'd go through significant gains and then just evening out for a bit followed by another gain. I now weigh 194 pounds, and I feel like I'm finally regaining control of myself again. I'm getting to the gym regularly and have my eating habbits under control and have stopped all my weight gaining behaviour and am just waiting for the pounds to start coming off again, but I don't want to do the same thing all over again, where I get close and then apply the emergency brake, followed by throwing it into reverse. For me I really belief it has alot to do with the attention I start recieving from men that scares me. It's like my weight is a barrier between me and that world (the world of disappointing relationships). When I'm heavy I still get some attention but not the same type I get whe