General Diet Plans and Questions General diet questions, support for various diet plans other than those listed below.

Closed Thread

Old 05-20-2001, 03:29 PM   #1  

Talking I'm a newbie and my cooking SUCKS!

Greetings -- I'm a newbie, and I don't cook! And when I do it's usually bad and I actually don't enjoy it. If anyone has any suggestions of diet plans, food I should try etc. that doesn't involve me boiling water (okay I can boil water, but that's about it ) -- please let me know. Thanks a bunch!!
Old 05-20-2001, 03:52 PM   #2  
Uber-Moderator!!

Default Cooking for the 'culinarily challenged'

Hey Blackstripes, you sound like a young chick!

When I left home at 19, I couldn't cook worth a darn - even though I did help out in the kitchen. I could bake cookies and stuff, but planning and preparing a meal was totally alien to me.

However!!! It costs SO much to eat out all the time I just had to teach myself. Here's some tips for you (other than living on Lean Cuisines which gets old very quickly - high in sodium besides).

*Invest in a George Foreman Grill - they come in all sizes. I have the small Champ model that I bought at Target two years ago for $25 which is just the right size for a one or two person household. Not only does it use very little energy (here in California, we have to keep that under consideration these days!) but it's a snap to use, comes with a book of recipes - and don't forget that the fat runs right off! Also great for veggies.

Here's a simple George Foreman grill recipe: