Does it Work? Unsure if the latest product or service lives up to it's claims? From popular products to the latest scams, discuss it here before you buy!

Closed Thread

Old 02-13-2005, 10:09 AM   #1  
Think about the boots!!

Question Do any over the counter pills actually suppress appetite?

First of all, I would like to go to a doctor and get a prescription for a weight loss medication, but my health insurance won't cover it and I'm a broke college student. So I'm trying to find something that actually works as an appetite suppressent. I'm doing the exercise fine (been going to the gym 5 days a week for almost a month now!), and trying to stick to a 1300 a day calorie plan, but I'm always hungry!!! I tried the (generic) Hydroxycut because it said it reduced appetite, but I think it actually made me more hungry. Has anyone else found a supplement that works?
Old 02-13-2005, 10:51 AM   #2  
it's always something

If you are going to the gym 5 days a week, you may be eating too few calories - which explains your hunger. You should probably aim for 1600 to 2000 calories per day. This may sound counteractive, but if you consume too few calories, your body will reduce the rate at which it burns them, so you get less benefit.

The best thing to do is experiment with how much food you eat, also taking a close look at the types of foods you eat to make sure the calories are rich in nutrients and fiber. Take a multivitamin for good measure. Some foods, such as high protein choices, help with hunger. If you'll post your average daily diet, some of our members might help you make changes to help your success.

Another tip is to stretch your meals out into 6 mini meals instead of 3 regular meals. This allows you to nibble throughout the day and keep your hunger at bay. Drink lots of water, or try v-8 juice to help keep you filled up. The hunger really does go away after your body gets used to the changes.