Carb Counters - What to eat while at school plus an intro/newbi

skinnymini
02-05-2005, 10:25 PM
I am new to lo-carb. I am not following a strict Atkins but using him as a guide. Anyways, 2 days a week I am at school all day leaving the house at 9:30am and I don't get home 'till 9pm that night. I eat breakfast at home oviously but I am at a loss for foods to take with me to school (there are no microwaves for the students, big university with no microwaves, go figure).

I can take a salad and like string cheese but what else? It can't be anything complicated because I also have a 30 pound backpack to haul around with me all day and I normally dont get a real break to eat until 3pm. It is just hard to do this when I am at school all day like this.

One good thing that really keeps me motivated: Both my parents are type 2 diabetics (not overweight or anything) and I have had higher than normal blood sugar levels since my first pregnancy 7 years ago (my girls are almost 7 and 3). Well normally my fasting levels are anywhere from 110-125 which is in the pre-diabetic range. After eating low carb all day yesterday I got up and check my blood sugar like normal and it was 99!!!! I was SO excited! My levels have not been that normal since before I had my first daughter (I had gestational diabetes with both pregnancies). I am hoping once I get down to a more normal weight (I'm 5'7" and weigh 179lbs) my blood sugar will kinda stabalize on it's own.

Anyways, nice to meet you all :)

lady_adnerb
02-05-2005, 10:44 PM
Skinny: Some people like pork rinds (but watch the type you buy because some have more carbs than others). You could also take along jerky. Just a couple other ideas of what you could bring along with the cheese and such.
Welcome and come join us on the daily thread....if you have time. Sounds like you're a busy person. We're here if ya have questions or need support :)

marie.
02-06-2005, 12:16 AM
Wow- what a schedule!