Dieting with Obstacles Those with special health concerns such as diabetes, fibromyalgia, pregnancy, etc can post here for extra support and help.

Old 09-15-2004, 11:48 AM   #1  
Focus on the Process

S/C/G: 247/247/165

Height: 5' 8"

Red face New Member With Ra

Hi, I'm new to 3fc and saw this forum and thought it might be good for me. I have had RA for about 4 years now. It wasn't bad at first, but progressed rapidly after the birth of my daughter 2 years ago. Its been long and hard. I gained alot of weight because it was just hard to move for awhile. I had some problems with medications a year ago and ended up with liver toxicity. I had to quit my meds until my liver counts went back to normal . I finally got of prednisone a few weeks ago. The pain is back in my feet but not too bad. I am currently taking Bextra and methotrexate. I have to try to hold out until February when my pre-existing condition waiting period is done for our current insurance. I joined WW in May and have only lost 11 pounds so far. I am a little discouraged...okay, maybe alot. I would like to find some exercising I can do everyday. Any ideas. I can't do anything to intense because of the flare ups afterwards. I hate those! Even though I have had RA for awhile, I still feel new to the game. Any help, tips, or tricks, or medical updates would be great. It's nice to know that there is other people out there trying to lose weight with this nasty disease.
chrily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 07:40 PM   #2  

Hi, Chrily. I'm Kelley/ Okidoll in OKC> I'm 31 w/ RA and Lupus. I'm new here, too. I also take Methotrexate (shots), Vioxx, Plaquenil --- all the good stuff.

I'm fortunate enough to have a treadmill and weights, but I've been having a problem lately of being completely wiped out and hurting after I walk. I guess I need to learn to pace myself. I don't know.... bums me out.