100 lb. Club - my name

View Full Version : my name

terrific pig
01-14-2004, 05:45 PM
My son said something that made me think the other day. He was reading over my shoulder as I was looking at recent posts and said, "Maybe people will think you're putting yourself down by calling yourself 'terrific pig'." I didn't really think of it when I chose the name. It wasn't meant to describe myself or make a judgement about my weight at all. It actually refers to one of my favorite books, Charlotte's Web. Charlotte weaves the word terrific into her web to describe Wilbur. I'm a teacher who loves children's literature, so the name seemed perfect to me. Does anyone else have a screen name with a story behind it?

Mary

mthrgoos68
01-14-2004, 06:18 PM
Mary, Thanks for sharing that! Mine is pretty self explanatory. Mthrgoos for Mother Goose since I have 6 kids, and 68 for the year my husband was born. That way everybody was included!

Raelynn
01-14-2004, 06:30 PM
Mine is my first name lol. Not very creative, but still unique. :)

terrific pig
01-14-2004, 06:39 PM
I forgot to mention that my fiance Mark drew my pig logo. He's a cartoonist, recently syndicated. His comic strip, Spot the Frog, just debuted last Monday in several newspapers around the country - Seattle, Denver, Albany NY, Portland Oregon, St. Paul MN, Salt Lake City are some of the papers Spot's in. If the strip if it isn't in your local paper but you'd like to check it out, go to spotthefrog.net.

There! That's my advertisement for the day...

mary

matt_H
01-14-2004, 06:47 PM
My real name is John, but I always liked Matt. And my last name doesn't start with a "H", it is just my favorite initial.

okay, thats not true..i wish I was more original. Okay, here is a scary Canadian cowboy elf clown ;).

Monkeybabies
01-14-2004, 10:11 PM
Well, I actually gave birth to two monkey babies......and they swing from the trees through out the house.