Depression and Weight Issues - Welbutrin SR

View Full Version : Welbutrin SR

jdg1574
09-12-2003, 12:59 PM
Has anyone experienced weight loss from taking Welbutrin? I was prescribed this for depression, but I have heard it is also prescribed for weight loss and to help quit smoking. My doctor told me that one of the side effects can be appetite suppression.

liz321
09-12-2003, 01:14 PM
Hi jdg and welcome

I have heard of it prescribed for depression and cigarette cessation but not for appetite alone....though I must admit I am not an expert on such matters. What is your story? I don't think that we have met.

Eliz

lynnie24
09-12-2003, 03:35 PM
I take it because it helps to even out my paxil.My dr also said it would give me some energy to help with weight loss.

jdg1574
09-12-2003, 09:17 PM
Thanks. Eliz, I am new here. You are right, we have not met. I guess I don't have much of a "story". I'm just here for some moral support and advice from people who understand. I don't have a signifigant amount of weight to loose. I'd like to loose about 30-35lbs. I'm 5ft5in and weigh about 160. I am very small framed, so I should probably weigh closer to 130. I don't really care how much I weigh. I just want to feel good again. I've gained about 30 pounds in the last few years. I feel sluggish and tired a lot. I always feel better with less weight on. Besides, I don't feel like I can wear cute clothes well anymore. I started the sugar busters plan this week. Have you done that before? I'm also thinking about joining Curves. I currently walk 7 days a week, but it's not enough anymore. I think I have reached an excercise plateau. I'd love to hear about you. Jenn

Aquareggie
09-14-2003, 09:58 PM
Wellbutrin did suppress my appetite. I lost weight while I was on it, but I was also taking another AD, so I can't say WB alone caused the weight loss.

:)

AR

Leenie
09-15-2003, 09:07 AM
Hi Jen !!