South Beach Diet Fat Chicks on the Beach!

Closed Thread

Old 08-31-2003, 11:39 AM   #1  

Default Preferred sugar substitute

I am VERY new to the South Beach Diet. I am getting my shopping list together now in order to start the diet tomorrow. I am very excited about this program - I think this will finally be the change to my eating patterns that will not only let me lose my excess weight, but to keep it off for a lifetime.

I have ready The South Beach Diet book. (And I am going to go back and read it again for any details I might have missed the first time.) On page 26, Dr. Agatston says, "There are many [sugar substitutes] to choose from nowadays--I prefer one that's actually derived in part from a form of sugar, although it has no calories."

Does anyone know which substitute he is referring to? I generally use Equal for individual applications such as in my tea, and Splenda for granualar use in cooking. Do either of these meet his description of being derived in part from a form of sugar?

Thanks,
mousetater
Old 08-31-2003, 11:46 AM   #2  
Come on Spring!

S/C/G: 232/170/150

Height: 5'0" on a tall day

Welcome to The Beach, Mousetater. You are wise to thoroughly read the book. I am due for a re-read to refresh my alleged brain on lots of this.

I think Dr. A. means Splenda. I use it and Equal but not too much of either. I think we should be weaning ourselves away from swee tastes - but that's just me!
Old 08-31-2003, 11:48 AM   #3  

Hello...I think he is referring to STEVIA?...I am pretty sure I read where is is derived from real sugar..and that the Chinese have used it for years. I have personally had a hard time finding it...would love to try in in tea.

I have also read that we need to be careful with some artificial sweetners because they will spike our SUGAR/SWEET cravings. But hey now a girl's got to have a little something besides WATER all the time!! tootles
Old 08-31-2003, 11:55 AM   #4  
Come on Spring!

S/C/G: 232/170/150