Old 01-27-2017, 12:44 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 165/160/120

Height: 4'10"

Default Vegan weight lifter: should I add protein powder to my diet?

I'm vegan and I lift weights (although I'm very much a beginner when it comes to deadlifts, bench presses, etc). I need at least 80g of protein a day (25% of my body weight) but preferably 124g (what the TDEE calculator reccommended). I want to lose weight while maintaining/building muscle, so I do need to be on the higher end of the estimate. Right now I'm lucky if I get 40g a day. I've tried adding more protein in the way of beans and tofu, but since I'm a college student at a not-so-vegan-friendly school, it's hard for me to get protein from whole foods. Should I add a protein powder into the mix? If so, what kind do you guys recommend?
ChamomileT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2017, 12:51 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 128/127/110

Height: 4'11"

How many calories are you on? As for protein powders, try reading reviews, getting a smaller quantity, and give them a try. You will certainly know quickly whether you like them and find they fit into your diet, and hopefully it'll become apparent whether or not you do better at weight-lifting with them. The blend ones can be nice, though watch out for unnecessary ingredients. I quite like the Jarrow blended one.
Esofia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2017, 04:22 PM   #3  

My calorie intake is around 1600 a day. I've heard good things about Vega and I'll check out the Jarrow one, too.
Old 01-27-2017, 04:51 PM   #4  

S/C/G: 137.8 22~% / 21.0% / 15%

Height: 5'4 1/2

As a vegetarian, I think you will highly benefit from protein powder.

I currently use a 6 pound bag I bought at Costco, best bang for the buck. It's called Muscle Milk 100% Whey.

I get 27 grams of protein in one scoop. Then if you have 2 shakes a day, you get your 54 grams of protein with only 260 calories. 1 scoop = 27 grams of protein and 130 calories. That will help you a lot.