Old 01-09-2017, 10:30 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 195/165/150

Height: 5"6'

Default How much worse after 40?

I just turned 41 on Saturday and this is my first attempt at dieting after age 40. Sadly, I didn't bother last year. Fortunately for me, my youngest child keeps me busy and I haven't gained any additional weight over the past few years.

But, it is going to be harder for me to lose weight now, than say at 35? I'm an Atkins fan and am starting induction today.
Neko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 11:15 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 137.8 22~% / 21.0% / 15%

Height: 5'4 1/2

As you age, you aren't able to eat the same unhealthy foods you used to without detrimental results to your weight.

Your hormone balance changes and may make it easier for your body to retain weight.

You’re also busier, with kids, work, chores and activities, and sleep often gets pushed aside as being important for your personal health.

For me, after 40 is when everything started going downhill....
I got my first injury at 41, an achilles tendon rupture, and I have been feeling more sore in general from workouts, and some pains here and there from extrenous activity. I wasn't like that in my thirties, my body recovered quickly.

But on the plus side, I have started doing weight training after 40, and I am stronger that I have ever been in my life!!!

So it all depends on you. 40 is not the end of it. You can certainly do it, if you put in the effort!!!

Last edited by stronggal; 01-09-2017 at 11:16 AM.
stronggal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2017, 06:46 AM   #3  
one choice at a time

S/C/G: 275/155/189/???

Height: 5'5"