South Beach Diet - Stuck -- Why?

View Full Version : Stuck -- Why?

Homeschoolmom
08-25-2003, 10:09 AM
Hi,

I'm new to SBD. I just finished week 2 and lost only 4 lbs. in week 1. I did not lose any in week 2 but have stayed the same.

Why am I hitting a plateau so soon? I have not cheated but am beginning to get frustrated. I keep telling myself that at least I haven't gained and my weight is better than it was 4 lbs. ago. But hey, I want to lose more!!

Anybody got any ideas? :shrug:

I'm about to panic!!

Thanks for listening.

TJ
165/161/145 or less

Ruthxxx
08-25-2003, 10:20 AM
Hi TJ and welcome to The Beach.

Four pounds is not to be sneezed at but I can understand your frustration. Don't panic! Most of us have been there!

How about posting menus with quantities for a day or two? Maybe the smart Beach Beauties can spot something. Are you using www.fitday.com to check out your calories? Sometimes eating too little can stall you.

Relax! Help is at hand.

dentrassi
08-25-2003, 10:46 AM
Also, the more you need to lose the easier it comes off at the beginning. With 20 or 30 pounds to lose, you have lost a pretty big percentage of your weight by losing 4 pounds. I lost 10 pounds the first 2 weeks, but PERCENTAGE wise that is less weight than YOU lost!!!

ellis
08-25-2003, 10:55 AM
TJ, don't despair. I started out needing to lose 65 pounds, and only lost 5 the first two weeks on Phase I. I actually lost more on Phase II the following two weeks!

Suzanne 3FC
08-25-2003, 01:41 PM
Most of the weight lost in the first 2 weeks is actually excess water. Dr. A. recommends only 1 to 2 lbs per week weight loss thereafter, which is also the recommendation by major health organizations.