Weight Loss Surgery If you've had it, or are considering it, share your discussions here

Old 07-14-2014, 02:56 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 285/180/160

Height: 5'9"

Default Who did you tell?

I had my sleeve done (put in? performed? removed? *insert correct verb here*) on June 10th, and thus far, I'm so unbelievably happy with it. I've lost weight, I feel good, my energy is back, and with the exception of a deep hatred of protein shakes, I've been having a lot of success with the protein-rich diet. Obviously, its not easy, but I wouldn't want a reversal even if it was an option.

Right now, I have the perfect explanation for my weight loss-- I'm getting married in October AND I'm a teacher on summer vacation, so people assume I'm just losing weight naturally, through traditional diet and exercise. Since I'm pretty private about my weight struggles (minus the obvious obesity), I'm ok with people not knowing; considering the judgement people seem prone to with WLS, I feel I walk a delicate line whenever I tell someone new.

But I feel like I'm keeping this huge secret from the world and its really draining on me. I get mixed reactions from people who I've told or who my partner has told. Today, my partner's grandmother asked how I was doing in the same breath she made my partner swear never to have surgery herself because it never ends well for people. This mixture of support and judgement, of people who think its positive and those "who had a friend who just put all the weight back on!", is emotionally very draining. I'm already gay and now I feel like I have to come out all over again, only this time I have to justify why I can only eat half a Greek yogurt at one time. I feel like I cannot hide it from everyone, but the anxiety of never knowing the reaction makes me want to only speak to people who already know and who are supportive.... I just know that isn't possible.