Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 11-03-2013, 10:30 PM   #1  

Unhappy Why do people criticize me for wanting to lose more weight?!

Hello!

I'm a newbie to this site. I started my weight loss journey in Oct. 2010.
My starting weight was 184 when I stepped onto that scale at my first weight watchers meeting. Currently I weigh 135. I have been very depressed and a couch potato lately not wanting to leave the house unless its absolutely a must. I've been separated from my husband since August. I'm now trying to get out of this funk and sadness. I want to get out and exercise and meet new people and start enjoying life again.

Recently I've mentioned to people (just acquaintances) that I would like to lose more weight with a target weight of 110. Why's that wrong? Why am I being judged for wanting to work towards a goal again, something to motivate me and help get me out of the house and around other people?

I need support and caring people in my life, not more hurt and judgment.
Jujusings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2013, 11:39 PM   #2  
Shrinking Chick

S/C/G: 288/ticker/160

Height: 5'8"

Hello and welcome!

Without knowing your height and build, I can't comment on whether or not you should lose any more weight.

If the people giving you negative feedback knew you at your high weight, they could be reacting based on how different you look from then. Or they might be worried that you're going to "starve yourself" because you're depressed. There are so many reasons people can be unsupportive - jealousy, their own weight insecurity, etc. It may have nothing to do with you, or it could be out of a poorly aimed concern for your well-being.

If your goal is a healthy weight, maybe just leave out the number when you talk about it with people. Just say "I'd like to lose a couple pounds" or "I want to start exercising to get healthy/fit" or "I'm going to a class at the gym to relieve stress".