Calorie Counters - Hello...I'm new to calorie counting.

scoobyfanatic
09-15-2013, 11:33 AM
Hello everyone,
I'm a 34 year old hard working RN! Currently I work in Endo and am pursuing my Master's in Nursing Informatics. I have tried many diets in the past from SB, Atkins, WW, and most recently NS. I liked WW when I did it but felt like I was always losing and gaining the same 2 lbs. I'm at the heaviest I've been. I am currently going to try increasing my exercise and calorie counting with myfitnesspal. Anyone have any good suggestions it would be much appreciated!

Emilie:carrot:

Buffinlovin
09-15-2013, 02:43 PM
:welcome2:

Hi Scoobyfanatic!!! Welcome to 3FC! :)

I use Myfitnesspal myself to count calories, and I love it! My goal is 1200 a day, however I tend to be balanced more between 1000-1200 (I know its low, but I'm not hungry and I watch the essential nutrients to make sure I'm getting enough, and take vitamins) depending on my activity level. I also use a Fitbit One to measure all of my movement so I can gauge how much I actually burn throughout the day. I did Weight Watchers for 2 months and had the same issue you did, where I wasn't losing at the rate that I thought I should be able to, and I found that with the free fruits and vegetables I was eating around maintenance level calories instead of deficit, so that's when I switched to calorie counting so I could be more accountable for what I ate.

One of the big things I'd say is don't start with the lowest calorie intake possible (I don't think myfitnesspal would let you go below 1200 calories). I had gotten used to smaller portions from weight watchers, so it wasn't so hard to ease myself into calorie counting, but if you have been eating larger portions for a while, it would be easier to start with something like 1700 calories for a week, then 1500, and so on, just so that you don't feel like you're starving yourself.