Old 09-15-2013, 10:33 AM   #1  

Default Hello...I'm new to calorie counting.

Hello everyone,
I'm a 34 year old hard working RN! Currently I work in Endo and am pursuing my Master's in Nursing Informatics. I have tried many diets in the past from SB, Atkins, WW, and most recently NS. I liked WW when I did it but felt like I was always losing and gaining the same 2 lbs. I'm at the heaviest I've been. I am currently going to try increasing my exercise and calorie counting with myfitnesspal. Anyone have any good suggestions it would be much appreciated!

Emilie
scoobyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 01:43 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 221/196.3/130

Height: 5'2

Hi Scoobyfanatic!!! Welcome to 3FC!

I use Myfitnesspal myself to count calories, and I love it! My goal is 1200 a day, however I tend to be balanced more between 1000-1200 (I know its low, but I'm not hungry and I watch the essential nutrients to make sure I'm getting enough, and take vitamins) depending on my activity level. I also use a Fitbit One to measure all of my movement so I can gauge how much I actually burn throughout the day. I did Weight Watchers for 2 months and had the same issue you did, where I wasn't losing at the rate that I thought I should be able to, and I found that with the free fruits and vegetables I was eating around maintenance level calories instead of deficit, so that's when I switched to calorie counting so I could be more accountable for what I ate.

One of the big things I'd say is don't start with the lowest calorie intake possible (I don't think myfitnesspal would let you go below 1200 calories). I had gotten used to smaller portions from weight watchers, so it wasn't so hard to ease myself into calorie counting, but if you have been eating larger portions for a while, it would be easier to start with something like 1700 calories for a week, then 1500, and so on, just so that you don't feel like you're starving yourself.