Dieting with Obstacles Those with special health concerns such as diabetes, fibromyalgia, pregnancy, etc can post here for extra support and help.

Old 09-10-2013, 06:42 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 271/265/170

Height: 5'5

Default Losing weight working nights?

I'm a cardiac monitor tech in a busy ICU and I work 12 hour night shifts. Because of this I have a screwy schedule. Three days of the week I work nights and sleep during the day. On my days off I flip back to a normal schedule. Because I'm sleeping during the day I don't eat, then I snack too much at work because I don't get a proper break until 1am at the earliest and I'm starving because I haven't eaten much all day! Also, because I have a substantial commute I don't get enough sleep on work days. I'm usually running on 4-5 hours of sleep at the most on work days and it's so hard! Does anyone else work nights? When do you eat and exercise? How do you keep your energy up?
Shannon1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 10:42 AM   #2  

Height: 6-1.5

I feel for you. I have worked nights-- 15 years worth. I refuse to take another night job.

I have had 2 experiences. My first night job, was a 7 pm to 7am shift. I never ate from the vending machine. I generally did not have time to put anything in the face. I learned to be okay with the feeling of hunger. I ate low carb meals. Meat and salad. I was in great shape. I had a six pack. The avatar picture is of me during that phase. That is what I want to get back to.

My second experience I gained a lot of weight. 5 pm to 2 am shift. I made more money and went to the vending machine for chips, candy bars and cola. It was 10 years of binging and I gained 80 pounds or so.

I think the vending machine was the big difference. The first job, I simply did not make enough money to buy candy or chips any time I wanted to. The second job, I spent about 5 dollars per night on junk food.