Old 08-25-2013, 05:13 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 221/196.3/130

Height: 5'2

Default Why am I yo-yoing?

Normally I’m okay with, and expect some fluctuations as I work towards my goal. I’ve been losing weight for almost 4 months now, and at my lowest weight (which was this past Tuesday) I had lost almost 23 lbs. I feel wonderful! I feel more confident, I feel better when I go somewhere and make healthy choices, I’m slowly starting to love myself the way I should be loved, and not hate every inch of pudgy flesh.

So why does my weight keep going back to the same spot?

I had been somewhat stalled around 202 lbs last weekend, and by Tuesday I had had a “whoosh” down to 198.7. I thought I was getting closer to a “safe zone” where my fluctuations wouldn’t have me going back into the 200’s (I tend to fluctuate about 1-3lbs every day). I was meticulous with my calorie intake, measuring everything, weighing, writing it down, etc. On Wednesday I bruised/pulled a muscle in my foot, so I haven’t been able to go for my walks, but I made sure that whatever went into my mouth would be accounted for.

And I’ve gained! Ever since Wednesday, I’ve slowly been creeping back up into the 200s. On Friday, when I weighed in at 202, I was frustrated, and decided to let myself take a break from counting (this has worked for me in the past). I didn’t go balls-to-the-wall and eat whatever, I still ate things I would normally eat in portions I would normally choose, but I didn’t weigh, didn’t track, etc. When I weighed in on Saturday at 200.4, I felt better, and was ready to count again. I just barely went over 1200 calories (I had some wine that took me to 1250 ish), and when I got on the scale this morning I was 201.4.