General Diet Plans and Questions General diet questions, support for various diet plans other than those listed below.

Old 08-17-2013, 10:19 PM   #1  
BELIEVE

S/C/G: 215/---/145

Height: 5'8

Question Steamed Vegetables: Good or Bad Idea?

Simple enough question, I'm an awful cook and there are very few vegetables that I can stand the taste of raw (eat plenty of fruits though). That said, I know how healthy they are and how essential they are to weight loss. So I guess what I'm asking is would steamed vegetables be enough of a compromise. Usually I just get a mixed bag so carrots, corn, peas, and green beans. I can eat quite a bit of the mix and the calories stay really low. And I know that the nutritional benefit is dropping quite a bit by consuming them this way, but I figure some is better than none right? I keep an eye on my sodium too so that is factored in as well. The only raw veggie I really like is carrots, but I doubt I can just eat those and say I've met my veggie requirements right? Suggestions perhaps? Thanks in advance.
KillerBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 11:06 PM   #2  

Hi,

I think steamed veggies are great and the combo you mention sounds quite healthy to me. If possible maybe you could drink a tomato juice or v8 to round out the selection.

Sheridan
Sheridan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 12:20 AM   #3  

S/C/G: SW:394/310/180

Height: 5'6"

While cooking destroys some nutrients, it also boosts others, for example lycopine is easier to absorb from cooked tomatoes than from raw.

So rather than trying to only eat raw, try to eat a wide array of different colored freggies prepared in a variety of ways. Steaming or simmering veggies in broth will usually preserve more nutrients than boiling (unless you're going to drink the cooking liquid). Even sauteeing or stirfrying is a good choice. For flavor, roasting can't be beat.