General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 05-30-2013, 06:54 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 163/128/125

Height: 5'5

Default Going back work (+ new career) after 4 years at home. Terrified!

Has anyone been in this position? I am absolutely terrified of this. I have always enjoyed working but I've been a stay at home mom since early 2010 and now I'm so scared to go back. If it was my old job and my old home, maybe it wouldn't be so bad, but it's a new career (I finished university pregnant) and I don't speak the local language very well (enough to fumble through my job LOL, I'm an ESL teacher so my native English is the priority).

I don't care about leaving my kids with others it's just the fear of how to be 'professional' again, especially when you're learning a new career. Plus I have to re-learn everything again because my brain has revolved around Disney Jr and Cheerios instead of complex grammar.
sacha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 07:56 AM   #2  

S/C/G: HW:200+/LW:120/CW:142

Height: 5'1 and a 1/2" (yes the 1/2" matters!)

Sacha, I haven't done the exact same thing, but I vividly remember the fear of moving back to the US after years in China. I'm also an ESL teacher, but even though my career stayed the same my contexts were so, so different: going from teaching motivated Chinese university students for credit to teaching a multicultural/multilingual group of adults in an evening class. I was terrified for my whole first semester. Then I took the job I have now, in the academic ESL department at a university, and was terrified again and felt like I was bluffing.