Ideal Protein Diet - Concerns about IP ingredients (GMO or non? organic? sucralose, soy): Anyone else?

Tailwinds
03-12-2013, 04:47 PM
Being overweight poses risks to our health, both physical (e.g., heart disease, diabetes) and psychological (e.g., depression) and it is really important to get to a healthy weight. There are many ways to do that, each with varying degrees of complexity, speed and risks and choosing a weight loss program is an individual decision based on balancing the risks and rewards based on that individual's knowledge and willingness to assume risks.

I am only a little more than a month into IP so I am still learning. But I have come to realize that these foods contain, especially in aggregate, large amounts of soy and sucralose, both of which are known to pose serious health risks based on studies which are not sponsored by their manufacturers.

On a related note, I was told by the owner of my center that IP foods are non-GMO and organic. Yet there is no mention of this on their packaging or their web site. Given that these attributes provide HUGE marketing advantages, this stunned me and drove me to pursue more information. When I emailed the manufacturer, they said that their foods are non-GMO. When I asked whether they were organic, they referred me back to my center. In an email exchange, the owner said that she would give me the information provided by IP which shows that their foods are indeed organic and non-GMO. I am to get that information at my consult with my coach, a co-owner, tomorrow.