Weight Loss Support - Airplanes: The worst place to be fat

Sunday115
01-14-2013, 03:48 AM
Brief synopsis of my story to begin: I'm a college student, due to a death in the family I took a semester off. The first year I went to Chicago for College (2.5 years ago) I went in and 290 and in just 2 months got down to 265. Since then I have gained all of it back and more putting me at my heaviest around 320. Finally yesterday, I got to come back to school in Chicago from California, and for the first time in my entire life I had to ask for an extender. Humiliating doesn't even cover it. The good news is, I live with a friend who is going on the weight loss journey with me, I have a "free" membership to the school gym, and we can keep each other on track.

Just venting, SO frustrated.

Any similar experiences?

Hotaruchan
01-14-2013, 06:47 AM
Ugh...I've never had that happen to me, but airplanes are uncomfortable enough without adding in humiliation. *Hugs* I'm sorry that happened, but you're making changes for the better, so it'll probably the last time it happens to you, at least. Good luck to you and your friend! You've managed to lose decent amount of weight in the past, so you can most certainly do it again. Go go go!

Misti in Seattle
01-14-2013, 07:04 AM
Oh for sure I've had to ask for the extender... especially on the smaller commuter planes. But I am pretty sure I won't have to do it next time I fly... here's hoping!!

annieway
01-14-2013, 11:05 AM
I think it was the extensive travel I have to do with my job that set me on my journey about a year ago. I never needed an extender but it was a close thing on some airlines - seatbelts vary in length by a lot from airline to airline. It was also feeling so crowded in middle seats and not being able to bend at the waist enough to reach under the seat in front to get my stuff.

betsy2013
01-14-2013, 11:11 AM