Old 12-02-2012, 06:07 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 299/289/150

Height: 5'8"

Default Healthy Holidays Suggestions/Advice

Hello!

I am new to 3FatChicks and really happy to have found this forum. I am currently on the two week induction into a lower carb, healthy diet. I will weigh myself on Wednesday to see how the first two weeks have gone with weight but I can tell you physically I feel fabulous. The program is strict (no whites, fruit, grains, etc.) but it will ease up after two weeks and in time for Christmas. The physical recovery (decreased GERD, asthma symptom, blood pressure) in a short period of time is noticeable and appreciated. So, I am very happy except.....the high risk, potentially rail-roading season of love is just around the corner and my anxiety is starting to increase as I plan how to care for my body during a season of traditional over-consumption.

My Mom arrived last night at my home with caramel popcorn balls and Christmas fruit cake. She is a skinny Mom who I love dearly despite her sabotaging behaviours. I left her 'gifts' out for my husband and children to have if they desired and then packaged them up and promptly froze them so I wouldn't be tempted. Two weeks (well, 11 days so far) could be undone in one spontaneous and impulsive moment. I know these foods are unhealthy for me and that they are counterproductive to my goals. Even with full knowledge - I am bothered by them being in the house and having thoughts of "mmm, one little piece of that traditional family christmas cake sure would be nice" countered with "No, I don't eat that way". I should probably throw it out but I am struggling with that as well, trying to tell myself I can have one controlled portion if it is that important to me followed with a "are you nuts? one piece leads to another - get rid of it" inner discussion.