Old 06-05-2012, 01:53 PM   #1  

Default Ideas for using leftovers

Hi, all. I'm a newbie here and looking forward to getting to know everyone! I hope this question hasn't been asked a million times; please forgive me, if so.

I am making my meal plans for the next couple of days, and I am quite positive I will have leftover "Italian Chicken" (shredded chicken, pepperoncinis, and italian dressing mix). I was hoping someone might have a suggestion for using that meat in something else. In the past, I have made enchiladas out of flour tortillas and the leftover chicken, but I'm not so sure I want to spend the calories on those tortillas.

Any ideas?
MommaOnMission is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 02:03 PM   #2  
present!

S/C/G: 200/174/145

Height: 5'3"

Try something like farro and chop up the chicken to put in it. You'll get a lot more bulk for your calories (1/2 cup cooked farro is the about the same as a single corn tortilla but for me it fills me up for longer like oatmeal does). You can eat it warm or cold, so works well for on the go lunches.

Or just go with green salad or spinach leaves.
Spinach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 02:17 PM   #3  
is super awesome.

S/C/G: ...ticker...

Height: 5'7"

You can still make enchiladas, just use either low calorie tortillas or corn tortillas. There are some AWESOME recipies around that I'm sure you could use the chicken in.

Do any of these sound tasty?

http://www.skinnytaste.com/2010/02/c...nchiladas.html

(these are delish!) http://www.skinnytaste.com/2010/06/c...adas-with.html

http://www.skinnytaste.com/2011/03/c...nchiladas.html

http://www.food.com/recipe/low-fat-c...t-taste-252267

And try this:

http://www.food.com/recipe-finder/lo...ken-enchiladas

I love food.com.

Good luck!!
kateleestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 02:21 PM   #4  
Leveling Up

S/C/G: 200+/115/115