Metabolic Research Center - Newbie to MRC

View Full Version : Newbie to MRC

melissab617
05-04-2012, 12:56 PM
Hi All,

I am new to MRC (currently in pre-conditioning). I am taking my food course and getting my menu later today...yay! I have to say, I am pretty nervous about sticking to plan. I don't have a lot of weight to lose (22.5 lbs total), but I am a HUGE fan of Mexican food. Which, I assume, I won't get much of anymore.

I think my biggest issue will be dealing with my Mexican food cravings. Other than that, I LOVE fruits and veggies. We already eat chicken or 97% lean beef only. So, it is just getting the portions right moving forward.

SO EXCITED to start!!! I really want to be able to go to the swimming pool with my 2 year old and not feel self-conscious about it! :carrot:

Galadreal
05-04-2012, 02:15 PM
actually you can use pretty much all the same spices, you mostly just have to limit how much bread you get, so not alot of tortillas. My husband makes a great turkey taco (ground turkey, taco seasoning, cheese, green onions, green peppers, and a 40 calorie taco shell). Mostly it is moderation and lots of protien. So much protien.

I don't know what plan you will be on, but from all the success stories on here, they all seem to work great. (I just hit the 23 pound mark, but I have alot more to lose thank you)

This just requires some creative thinking.

melissab617
05-04-2012, 02:55 PM
I will have to look for the 40 cal taco shell! That would make my day!

JenB72
05-04-2012, 03:22 PM
Welcome, Melissa!!!! As Galadreal said, you can still have some Mexican, you just have to be creative. I love Turkey Tacos. However, I eat them in a bowl instead of a shell. The 40 cal taco shell I get is a Corn Shell from Mission (24 in a package). Only problem is that it is small. I could never get 3 oz of meat and 1/2 oz cheese in it. A little bit, but then the rest I would have to eat as a taco salad minus the shell. Still great though.