Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 04-19-2012, 09:22 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 232/tick/150

Height: 5'8"

Default Eating

I've been running for about 2 years now. The most I've historically run is a 10k. I mostly run 3 to 5 miles, and burn off 350 - 600 calories. I tend to eat back about 70% of what I burn. My daily calorie goal is 1570, and I tend to be hesitant to eat anything over 2100, which is what I need to maintain my weight. This normally isn't a problem, as I don't burn enough for that to become and issue. However, I recently began training for my first half marathon. 70% of my calries burned after 10 - 13 miles has me eating a LOT, and its kind of freaking me out.

How have you all handled long distance running and counting calories for weight loss?

P.S. Sorry for the random title... my phone went crazy and posted this early as I was deleting the title and trying to retype it.

Last edited by marbear24; 04-19-2012 at 09:25 AM.
marbear24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 04:21 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 242/150/140

Height: 5'7"

Hummm, I have been wondering what will happen when I up my distance. After my big hill run I ate a lot more that day (all low carb). It does seem to be a problem. I hope other people will have some ideas.
autodidact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 12:49 PM   #3  
Tellin' it like it is!

S/C/G: RESTART:153.5/147/135

Height: 5'4"

if you are serious about losing weight while concurrently training for your first half, then id suggest dont eat back ANY of the exercise calories!
If you feel like you need it, go ahead and up your average daily allotted cals, because of added acticvity, but i wouldnt up it too much

1) you have no idea how many calories you are actually burning.