Exercise! - Walking is excellent exercise, so why don't more of us do it?

berryblondeboys
03-23-2012, 05:12 PM
Some of the life long fittest people I've known were lifetime walkers. It's easy on your joints, you can increase speed and distance to increase the calorie burn, so why does everyone try to stop walking to start running?

Higher calorie burn? Get it over with faster? Harder means better? I really don't get it. If we all would get off our butts and walk every day - like briskly walk, we wouldn't have the obesity problem we have. We could avoid a lot of injuries too if we stuck to walking instead of running.

I've been working out for 15 months. I can now do power step aerobics for an hour - all the jumps - yep. I lift weights in bodypump and after 9 months, I have the most weight on the bar for most muscle groups, BUT... I can also still walk fast enough to get my heart racing for a good workout too.

Do people think it's wimping out or something to count walking as exercise? Just walk faster and longer! I guarantee your legs will get twitching and you'll get a good workout!

Think I might blog about this tomorrow.

Porthardygurl
03-23-2012, 05:18 PM
I personally find it hard to walk...i find that my legs ache after and im breathless and well i know im out of shape.. I guess i rather run and put myself through torture for 20 minutes as opposed to doing it for 60 minutes through fast paced walking..

4myloves
03-23-2012, 05:32 PM
Because it would take a reeeeaaaally long time to complete a marathon? :lol:

sensualappeal
03-23-2012, 05:36 PM
I don't walk because it's boring to me. I mean, I live downtown Chicago and I walk everywhere but I don't really consider that exercise. It's like a necessity. But I don't really walk for exercise usually.

berryblondeboys
03-23-2012, 05:37 PM
But we don't need to complete a marathon to be fit.... See, that's just it. We start setting our sites on things that are difficult. Why?