Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 02-08-2012, 07:15 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 197/185/160

Height: 5'6"

Default How do you deal with exercise guilt?

Hello all!

My name is Andrea and I'm a 3FC newbie!
I started my new, healthy lifestyle about a month ago.
It is going very well and I have dropped 13 pounds and 3 inches from my waist!
I have been averaging around 350 minutes of exercise per week with a mixture of cardio and strength training.
I enjoy it very much, but sometimes I'm just not into it and cut a workout short.
I feel incredibly guilty afterward. Logically, I know that I am getting enough exercise, but I can't shake the guilt.
Has anyone else gone through this? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!
dreabug23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 07:24 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 195/180.2/165

Height: 5'9"

Just schedule shorter exercise times and then you won't have to "cut it short" you be more likely to exercise more and then feel pleased.

I'm not familiar with feeling guilty if I stop before some self appointed time, but I usually just either have a route to do if I'm out in the woods but feel free to turn around early if I'm not feeling it, which is unusual, or set a timer for 20-25 if I'm treadmilling or stairclimbing so that by the time I'm bored I'm done. If I'm in a class I stay for the whole class.

I think it's important to learn how to feel something (bored with exercise) and not necessarily take the actions associated with that feeling (quitting.) So, maybe practice doing one or 5 more minutes after you feel bored.
seagirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 07:57 AM   #3  
June

S/C/G: 240/184/155