Weight Loss Support - can't walk fast enough

View Full Version : can't walk fast enough

ELBS717
01-19-2012, 09:40 PM
Since I'm a grad student and I have zero extra time for exercise during my day, I've chosen to walk to my classes every day so that I get at least a little "accidental" exercise. It's 2.1 miles to my classes on campus, and I time myself taking about 45 minutes on my lazy/tired mornings. Other mornings I try to speed walk the whole way... when I timed myself the other day, I walked as fast as I possibly could the entire way, and by the time I got there I was nice and sweaty for my 2 hour class (lovely, eh?). Unfortunately, it apparently still took me about 35 minutes... which works out to be only 3.4 mph! I estimate this to be right since on my treadmill I can't really walk faster than 3.5 mph w/o needing to hold on for dear life.
Why do I walk so slow? I keep reading online that I need to walk 3.5-4.0 in order to get a good work out, but I literally cannot walk any faster than about 3.4. It makes me feel pathetic. Is it just that I don't have the muscle mass, or is it because I just have a short stride? (I'm only 5'2") Does anyone else have this problem?

HokieLoki
01-19-2012, 09:46 PM
you're only 5'2." Us shorter ladies have shorter legs! It would be impossible for me to only walk 4.0, that is jogging for me, even when I was tiny and in great shape. As long as you are going as fast as your legs take you and your heart rate is going up, you are doing fine. I'm sure with time you will start going faster also.

aliasihaya
01-19-2012, 09:46 PM