Exercise! - Capoeira

View Full Version : Capoeira

josey
01-12-2012, 02:35 PM
Not sure how many have heard of this, so here is a link to Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capoeria and here is a link to a video on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z8zNigU0ChU

I really wanted to do that for the longest time but as you can see those guys are incredibly fit and it is not exactly a sport for overweight and unfit people. Well, and that is what I used to be my whole life.

Now, they are offering classes where I live for total beginners (keep your fingers crossed!) and I am at (well, close) to my goal weight, so I signed up! :yikes:

The first class is on Saturday and I am a little nervous.

I will check back on Monday or so and let you know how it went. Well, if I survive it, that is. :dizzy:

Anyways, I figured I start a thread and see if somebody else is crazy enough to try out Capoeira. :-) Anybody doing it or used to do it?

JennaR
01-12-2012, 02:43 PM
I've never heard of it! But, after checking out the links your provided it looks really awesome!

I wish I was as brave as you! I'm totally intimidated by the gym and all the really fit people who go! I'm always self-conscious that I wont be able to perform to the same ability as the others even if it is a beginners class or whatever!! I'm working on this and contemplating signing up for a beginner yoga class to get me over my fear!!

Hope you have fun!! Looks like it'll be a blast! :)

HMM3
01-13-2012, 03:11 AM
Good luck .... I have heard of it and know some very fit looking celebrity bodies do it .... go for it .... let us know how you get on ...

Julia75
01-13-2012, 10:25 PM