Food Talk And Fabulous Finds Recipes, Healthy Cooking, and General Food Topics

Old 11-30-2011, 10:26 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 190/ticker/135

Height: 5'5

Default When you dont have a fridge

Ok so I'm a college student, like many of you out there. When I go to school if I want to bring a lunch it has to be something that I don't have to refrigerate. Well, from my own uncreative brain the only things I can come up with are some fruit and sandwiches.

Do any of you guys have good ideas for interesting healthy meals to bring that don't require microwaving or refrigeration? I'm tired of sandwiches and an apple. And it's especially hard when I know I could just toss the inexpensive sandwich to be replaced by delicious....pizza hut...or chick-fil-a or wendy's. (My school is almost void of any sort of health food).

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!
redrose8988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 10:54 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 148/143/120

Height: 5'0"

That's rough not having a fridge or microwave during the day! I can't think of anything off the top of my head for meals that don't require those, other than to say try to make your packed lunches more interesting. For example, I'll buy low-fat chips to have w/ my sandwich so that it's more like a "normal" lunch rather than depriving myself entirely.

Also, don't automatically rule out the fast food. Chickfila's grilled chicken sandwich is only 290 calories and 4 grams of fat. I know it's harder to choose that than the yummy nuggets and fries (trust me I know lol!) but maybe having a break from the packed lunches on some days would help keep you motivated.
untamed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2011, 11:14 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 187/190/145

I don't how long you have between leaving home and eating lunch, but they have food containers with freezer packs

How about something like this:
http://www.amazon.com/Fit-Fresh-Lunc.../dp/B000FNCS5M

Also, what about soup in a thermos?
canuckgirl7 is offline   Reply With Quote