Old 11-15-2011, 03:54 PM   #1  
member member

S/C/G: 207/199/150

Height: 5'7''

Default vegetarian question

so for the month of november, i've been trying to eat vegetarian (it started as vegan but i couldn't say no to cheese for very long). it's no-meat november -- my alternative for no-shave november since female no-shave novembers tend to be underappreciated. ain't nuthin' wrong with hairy legs.

anyway, i've succeeded for the most part but i've also noticed i've been eating way more carbs, i guess in place of meat? like, where i could have meat + vegetable before, now i have like...vegetable + couscous. and holy crap, i love couscous. i suppose my question is what kinds of non-carby meals do you vegetarians/vegans eat? maybe it's because i'm a newb but i'm out of ideas!
alabama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 04:03 PM   #2  

Height: 5'4''

It's hard to be vegetarian and low-carb because even good sources of veggie protein tend to be high in carbs. Tofu is one of the lower carb protein options, along with nuts, and seeds. Also high protein vegetarian options are nowhere near the protein of meat.
popspry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 04:06 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 170/ticker/slim

Height: 5ft 6

Meat free protein sources: beans, lentils, chickpeas etc, quinoa, eggs, meat substitutes (in the UK its things like Quorn, textured vegetable protein), soya, nuts and seeds.... I'm sure you can make a meal out of these things.

Well done on the going veggie for a month!!
3CatsMeow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 05:10 PM   #4  
Skinny cow in the making!

S/C/G: 193/149/126

Height: 5'4

I am vegan and find it hard to eat low carb sometimes. If you have meat free protein stuff like 3CatsMeow says, it is easier as long as you have your non-starchy veggies with it and don't replace meat with carby food (which is very easy to do!)

I eat quite high carb and still lose weight very fast as a vegan. It's weird.