South Beach Diet - New to SBD

View Full Version : New to SBD

kittykat1
10-27-2011, 01:54 PM
Hello - i am a newbie ...to the SBD and to Fat Chicks website. So hello to everyone!! I am in day 3 of phase 1 and so far so good i think!! Fingers crossed! I only weigh myself once a fortnight so i have a 11 days to go till weigh in!
I would love to hear from any Mums who fit the diet around their kids :dizzy:
I have 3 to keep me busy and so far we have been having seperate meals ..any ideas for family friendly stuff would be FAB!
Looking forward to making new friends :):)

pear_fairy
10-27-2011, 02:08 PM
Welcome!! I am married to an Englishman after living over there for 3 years but now we are in the states :)

I am only a couple days ahead of you so well done! I don't have any tips as my husband eats what I eat and I make the kiddos separate food because the 9 year old is SUPER picky and the 19 month old loves her fruit and veggie pouches along with some of what we eat. My husband eats whatever I toss his way thank goodness ;) Way to go on teh scale willpower...I have peeked already but plan to record my weight on Saturdays officially since my insurance also makes me go to WW so I weigh in there on Saturdays.

ultimatebea
10-27-2011, 03:28 PM
Hey KittyKat -

I am a mom of 2 - DD1 is 11, and DD 2 is 8. Many foods that I have the kids and DH also eat just fine - with some modifications. If they have white rice or mashed potatoes, I have mashed cauliflower. If they have baked potatoes, I have a baked sweet potato. We all eat LOTS of raw veggies, and my kids love them. They use dip if they want to - and I just avoid. We all use whole wheat bread and pitas most of the time, but the kids do have some "squishy white bread" in the house.