Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 09-05-2011, 12:14 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 199/199/140

Height: 5'3"

Default Not sure how this works!

Hi there,

I am brand new to this - I am now 199 lbs at 5'3" tall, 44 yrs old. I can't seem to get the weight off. I wear a pedometer and I have (most days) 6000-7000 steps, so I really need help on how to diet and how to exercise.

My sister is getting married next summer and I am the maitren of honor! Yikes!

Desperate for help!!!!
lmbcrocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 12:46 PM   #2  
(slim) shady

S/C/G: 193/188/155

Height: 5'2"

I'm not an expert like many of the members here but do you track what you eat? That might be key for you. I count my WW points AND my calories and fat, I write it all down so I know I'm not eating more points than I should and so I have and idea of the fat and calorie going into my body.

Try keeping a journal of everything you eat & how many calories (if you want to calorie count) or how many points (if you want to do WW). It might be easy to set a goal of no more than 1200 calories per day (or whatever works for you) and start counting.

I'm not sure how many miles or calories 6000-7000 steps is, but if that plus really controlling what you are eating doesn't work maybe you need to add more exercise? Join a gym or go on longer walks? I hope this helps! But I think if you are already getting good exercise it's important to start tracking what you are eating, you might be surprised at the calories that are going in to your body & that might solve your problem!
steinanwine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 01:29 PM   #3  
Soul Cyster

S/C/G: 235/seeticker/135

One thing to do is to try to take 10,000 steps a day. Small things like parking your car farther away, getting up and walking for a bit every hour at work (lap around the cubes), etc, can bring that number up.