Ideal Protein Diet - Phase 4: can I do this diet for life?

fowegrel
08-02-2011, 10:48 PM
anybody else contemplating this? I have been on phase 4 for about a month. love the way I feel, but in last 2 weeks have gained 5 lbs (not sure why, the 1st 2 weeks of phase 4 i didn't gain any). Now I am getting bored with my daily salads for lunch, eating like a crazy person on my cheat day and wondering if I can eat this way for life or go back to eating whatever in healthy portions? any thoughts?

coliep
08-02-2011, 11:00 PM
I can't answer that, and I am relatively new to the diet but I have been told that you typically gain 2-5 pounds once you enter maintenance, I believe from replenishing glycogen stores etc. I would also suspect water retention from regular salt would be a contributing factor. I would definitely talk with your coach, and best of luck!

Susie_Bee
08-03-2011, 04:01 PM
I have been on phase IV since June 11th and while it has been going fairly well, and I have been managing to maintain, I feel a little out of control this past week and my weight is showing it! Nobody else seems to notice but I do.

I am tracking my food with Myfitnesspal to stay accountable.

I hate that as soon as I indulge a little, I can't be happy with the indulgence because it just makes me want more. However, I am so happy with my new body and clothes and I am still receiving tons of compliments almost daily, which really helps to motivate me. I know the items that are "more-ish" to me and I am avoiding them! I do have my cheat days, followed by my phase I days (which are really more like phase II, I must admit). I also like to continue with protein bars for occasional snacks, especially when I get a sweet craving!

I am still considering coming back to phase I in September to lose another 5-10 lbs... but then again, I want to rejoin the gym and get back to exercising (running) once the routine is back to normal (after summer vacations) and maybe that will be enough for me.. we'll see!