General chatter - So who has a bachelor's degree?

View Full Version : So who has a bachelor's degree?

glassmenagerie
06-23-2011, 01:21 PM
I'm still working on mine, but I just like to ask others these questions!

What is your degree in? Why did you choose your particular major? Is your current job related to your degree? Do you wish you would have chosen a different major? If so, what would you have chosen? Do you feel that the fact that a person has a degree (proving that they can think and use their brain to some extent :D) is more important than what they chose to major in?

I'm majoring in History right now, and while I don't feel like it's a mistake I'm wondering if there is a more practical application for it. I could always teach, that's a given, but I'm thinking maybe I'll switch my major to Library Science and minor in History, and look at becoming an academic librian.

I don't know! I'm just tired of people telling me I'm making a bad choice when I feel like it's a good one.

djs06
06-23-2011, 01:41 PM
My undergraduate degree is in English, and I minored in women's studies.

My graduate degree (master's) is in public policy and administration.

I work as a research study coordinator at a university. It has pretty much nothing to do with my UG degree- although I think it gave me a lot of good skills. I think there's a lot to be said for majoring in the humanities- it gives you a wide breadth of knowledge and skills that can benefit any job (spoken like a true liberal arts college alumna!)

I want to work as a grant writer for a nonprofit organization or for a foundation or local government. :) Haven't gotten there yet, though! I work for a doctor so hearing about her clinical activities kinda makes me wish I'd been more scientifically inclined... I am just interested in everything! :)