100 lb. Club - Figuring out a goal weight

View Full Version : Figuring out a goal weight

April Snow
05-25-2011, 12:12 PM
Hi everyone!

I'm new to 3FC, although not new to weight loss - but hopefully this time I will be new to SUCCESS!! I lost over 40 lbs a couple of years ago, but put back about 35 of it. :( I think, I lost where I had kept track of all these numbers! But at least I turned things around before I started to earn that "weight loss interest" and get back up to my highest weight and beyond!

Right now, I'm trying to figure out a reasonable goal weight. The lowest weight I can ever remember as an adult was in the 2-teens and that was decades ago. I know I want to go beyond that, but how much? I'm curious how others decided their goals and what factors they used?

Thanks!

Engraved
05-25-2011, 12:22 PM
my goal weight is the top weight into the normal BMI category. But that is just a number. Getting closer to goal i ll re-evaluate how i feel in my body, and i ll go from there.

Arctic Mama
05-25-2011, 12:22 PM
Well, it is common to use the BMI tables to pick a weight, or a number you remember seeing/that just sounds better. I kind if did both. For me, 160 was my lowest adult weight and I looked great - still a little overweight, but strong and healthy and sexy. So I made that my first real goal as I know I can attain it, even ten years and three kids away from where I was when I last weighed it. But the BMI puts me at 145 as the upper limit for a normal weight, so I made that my 'would be nice, assess as I get closer' weight. Not binding, but something I may try to shoot for and see if I can achieve/maintain it.

That's what I did, anyway :)

beerab
05-25-2011, 12:37 PM
I chose 135 because in high school I was 150 and was happy with my weight- I was slightly thick but I think 135 would be good for me. When I get closer I may re-adjust my goal.

ubergirl
05-25-2011, 02:07 PM