Closed Thread

Old 10-28-2002, 12:58 AM   #1  

Height: 5'7

Question Thinking about joining and have a few questions.

Hello everyone,
I've been seriously thinking about starting ww and think it might be the right program for me. I was wondering how to get started & what I can expect at the meetings? How does a typical meeting go with weigh in, leaders, participation, how long are they and so on? I guess I'm a bit intimidated because I've never done this before but I want to give it a chance. Any info you can give would be really appreciated. Thanks!
Old 10-28-2002, 02:58 AM   #2  

1. call the 800 number and find a meeting location.
2. go to meeting time; arrive a bit early to fill out paperwork.
3. pay fees, buy books, buy foods, etc.
4. weigh in.
5. feel amazed at how high the number is. use said number as motivation to stick with program.
6. find seat away from squalling babies and fussing toddlers.
7. listen to meeting topic led mainly by leader. members may add comments, but you don't have to if you are shy.
8. towards end of meeting, awards and applause will be given out. the style varies from meeting to meeting.
9. meeting ends, and you remove your name tag, and toss in garbage or affix to the giant name tag sculpture that is sprouting near the reception desk.
10a. repeat steps 3-10 until you reach your goal weight and maintain it.
10b. repeat steps 3-10b until you get fed up, decide you don't need the meeting, it's better to save the money, or it's just not working because you can't lose the weight. wait approximately 3 months to a year before restarting program again. swear it will be different this time. and it is.
Old 10-28-2002, 07:55 AM   #3  

Angry

Rubyblue,