South Beach Diet Fat Chicks on the Beach!

Old 09-04-2010, 01:00 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 247/227/180

Height: 5'4"

Default SBD vs. free dessert

I'm a freelance writer, and I'm regularly assigned restaurant reviews around town. This has been challenging but doable on SBD; it's especially easier at higher-end restaurants where there are healthier options. Last night was one such event. My boyfriend and I had a stuffed portabella mushroom appetizer; it was stuffed with artichoke hearts, red onions, spinach, a smidge of feta, and really high-quality balsamic vinegar, all served over a roasted red pepper puree. Okay, so far so good.

The main course was equally successful (I am on Phase II, btw): I had grilled amberjack fish with crab salsa, and sides of green beans and zucchini. Excellent! I was all set for some hot tea to round out the meal when our server informed us that our entrees came with free dessert.

Oh, boy.

I ended up caving and ordered the flourless chocolate cake. Sure it's flourless, so that's good (sort of...), but it also has plenty of refined sugar and butter. In my pre-SBD days, I would have tried to rationalize the whole thing: "Well, I just had a healthy dinner, so I'm entitled to dessert." But this time was different. I understood exactly what I was doing and I held myself accountable.

I also only ate half of it.

So, that's my confession. I really felt like I had to vent (so thanks for listening)!

Today I feel okay. I had eggs and nitrate-free turkey bacon for breakfast, V-8, and some unsweetened herbal tea. I'm not going to sit around and dwell on last night's slipup; I'm back on the horse and I'm going to make this weekend a good one. I wish you all the same!
strangerthanfiction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 01:13 PM   #2  
-

S/C/G: Size 16 to 18/Size 6/I'm there

Height: 5"3" Age: 55

My take is occasionally....very occasionally, one needs a bit of decadance.