Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 08-16-2010, 08:20 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 175/161.6/130

Height: 5'6''

Default Cyclists?

Are there any others that love to ride a bike?
I am an amateur bike rider, I've got my little yellow generic mountain bike that I love to ride for exercise. I can go for hours and feel great!
My only complaint is I live on top of a big huge hill, leaving for a bike ride is a piece of cake. I've got a cool 10 min ride down the hill towards the beach but coming home is another story. After an hour ride up and down the coast line It takes me about 45 min to get back up to the top, and I am usually walking most of it and I feel terrible by the time I get home.
So who else out there rides a bike?
BananaMarie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 12:42 AM   #2  
SGeranium

Height: 5"8

I do, I do . I've just started within the past year. Before that I road a little with my family at a leisure pace for shorter miles . I'm lucky to live near a bike trail that connects to others creating over a hundred miles of bike trail. It's also at the bottom of a very steep hill. I've worked hard to increase my fitness and gear shifting ability to get back up without walking. But I'm often REALLY tired at the of a long ride and it's still not always possible . I live at the top of a big hill too. No way around it........... It's great exercise and I'm still learning how to ride more efficiently.
SGeranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 10:35 AM   #3  
active kids, active mom

Bike lover here!!! It makes me feel like a kid again. I just did a 31 mile ride last weekend and we are hoping to make a cross-counry trip in a few years -- when the kids are older. I LOVE LOVE LOVE biking.

I am not sure what to think of your hill. I assume there is no other route in? Is that accurate? Hmmmm. Maybe you could shorten the riding part so that you don't feel so spent after the hill?