Old 08-02-2010, 05:32 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 144/130/115

Height: 5'4"

Default Any low calorie ideas for mindless eating?

I am a doctor in residency, which means I have to take overnight call in the hospital every few days to every few weeks. I have noticed that I will eat and/or drink constantly in order to stay awake and alert. The pace can be quite hectic so I eat things that are quick to grab. I have a fridge and microwave in the workroom and I always bring my own food, but it is amazing how fast the calories add up. And if I just tell myself I won't bring that much food with me, I end up snacking on the junk that's all over the hospital. I'm wondering if anyone has any low calorie ideas that I can munch on while I'm working? Things that have worked so far have been watermelon slices, baby carrots and popcorn. I can't do anything calorie dense because I will just mindlessly eat it in a few seconds. I can't do anything that requires too much focus (it sounds lame but even trying to eat a salad with a fork is difficult because I'm constantly running in and out of the room, sitting down to write notes, seeing patients, ordering labs, etc) so I need things that I can continuously graze on. I have tried to just drink a lot of water and chew gum, but I think I crave the comfort of eating in order to cope with the stress/pass the time.

Has anyone else been in a similar situation? What has worked for you? Thank you!!!!!
JenB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 05:40 PM   #2  
Enjoying la bella vita

S/C/G: 28 pounds to go

Height: 5-4

How about frozen grapes? Just prep them all when you buy them and put in the sandwich size bags and grab and go ... I like mine plain but a friend sprinkles some art sweetener on hers while they're still damp from being washed. Freezes right on them... Cantaloupe cubes??
nationalparker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 05:49 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 150/ticker/130

Height: 5'2"