Goal! - 80+ lbs GONE; goal story and pictures!

Fat Pants
06-22-2010, 04:12 PM
I wanted to share my goal story because it was reading a lot of these goal stories that made me believe that I could lose the weight.

Where to start? I have been overweight for much of my life, though I was never really *that* overweight - maybe by 10 or 15 lbs. There are certain times in my life where other people made me aware of my chubby state, particularly my parents and a few mean boys in middle school. But honestly? Other than that, it never really bothered me too much. I think I made it a point to not define myself by my weight so I didn't spend too much time fretting over those 15 lbs. I am 5'4.5" and when I graduated high school, I remember weighing around 150 lbs.

In college I stayed around that same weight until my sophomore year when I started eating out ALL the time. Living on campus (24/7 dining hall) and having a naturally very skinny brother who was all too willing to join me on late-night Taco Bell runs put me up to 165 lbs.

Then there came THE GUY. The love of my young life broke up with me suddenly one day, and I couldn't keep anything down (ah, The Break Up Diet) and lost about 10 lbs in a week. I had a lot of anxiety/panic attacks surrounding the breakup and as a result of the initial post-break up meltdown, figured out that I could basically eat and throw up and lose weight. I got down to 130 lbs.

I can look at it lightheartedly now, but at the time my world was an entire mess. I dropped 35 pounds very quickly and for the first time in my life, people were complimenting me on how I looked. I was thin. Guys were asking me out left and right. People paid attention to me and I felt good about myself (as much as one can feel while hiding loads of emotional pain inside). Eventually I wised up, sought help, and went to therapy.