Old 06-18-2010, 01:49 AM   #1  
Motivated IP-er

S/C/G: HW313(2007) 264(IP)/ticker/160

Height: 5'9"

Default Interesting health benefits...

I've been on the Ideal Protein diet now for a month, and lost 24.2 pounds overall.

I just recently went to my pulmonologist (I have a history of sarcoidosis), and did breathing tests. I have been doing these tests for the last 3 years. At first, the were very low, but improved on steroids to "almost normal" levels. Off steroids, they dropped again, but since I was not having difficulty breathing, we didn't restart them.

The first week, I ate the variety of things I was told (their preset menu), with only a few exchanged because of food preferences. Second week, I tailored it more to me, but decided to try to stick to the lowest carb things... which also 1) most have sucralose, but 2) are all gluten free.

Went to the doc, did the tests... and came out way, WAY better than ever before. From 87% max ability to 98%(!), and from 67% to 85% in the other (forgotten) important measure. He was totally amazed. I asked him if my diet could be helping. He thought I didn't weigh enough to affect my breathing. I explained that I was wondering if cutting dairy/gluten/alcohol/etc could account for it... he was unsure.

But I also had some arthritic nodules starting on my knuckles... and they're gone!

Anyone else have any health problem turn around on this diet?
sgorny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2010, 12:08 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 261.8/201.6/185

Height: 5'4.5

That is so amazing! Congratulations!!
My husband had a sarcoidosis scare a few years back and the doctors finally decided that was not the case. It was kinda scary. I am so happy for you to have this imporvement!