Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 06-10-2010, 05:22 PM   #1  
aka Sarah

S/C/G: 289/193/159

Height: 5'7"

Default Time to correct significant leg imbalance?

I've done strength-training previously, including some of NROLFW last year, and began the program in The Female Body Breakthrough by Rachel Cosgrove in May. Thus far I really like the program and I'm seeing clear strength increases; in addition, one thing I've discovered about my body, thanks to the program's emphasis on unilateral lower-body movements, is that I have a pretty serious imbalance in strength (and perhaps flexibility/mobility) between my left and right legs. My left leg is significantly stronger than my right, so whereas I can do something like a single-leg bent-knee deadlift pretty easily on my left, it's VERY difficult to do on my right at all, let alone with the same weight load. This is true in every unilateral exercise.

So, I'm really happy that the program does include so much unilateral work, and I can see that my right leg is making good improvements thus far--but I'm wondering how long it may take for my right leg to catch up with my left? And can I expect that I'll ultimately be able to completely fix the imbalance?

Additionally, now knowing that I have an imbalance, should I include extra work for my right leg? All of the exercises I'm doing are challenging to both legs, but would an extra set of reps for the right help? (Usually I'm limited to doing 2 sets of reps for each exercise due to time constraints in my schedule. And the program has 8 exercises per session in it, generally two or three of those are unilateral lower-body exercises.)

I'd be interested in any advice that may be helpful in fixing the imbalance in a smarter or more speedy way.
WarMaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 06:40 PM   #2  
Boston Qualifier and MOM

Height: 5'3.75"