Weight Loss Support - commiting to healthy style for me

View Full Version : commiting to healthy style for me

RedRock
05-28-2010, 06:14 PM
Warning this is long.

I'm really struggling in finding a healthy lifestyle for me. I've never been the type to each "junk" foods soda, chips, etc, because I never felt satified eating them or filler foods as I call them. My biggest problem was portion control and eating thinks like fried foods, large portion sizes, etc. From the time I hit middle and all through out high school I stayed at the same weight around 150lbs. Even at 5'5'' I was still self concious about my weight. I made a promise to myself to NEVER go past that number when I graduated from highschool. Thankfully I was able to fullfil this promise and lost 20lbs since graduating in 2004.

Don't get me wrong I have made a lot of accomplishments as far as making the right choices in food, and don't cover myself in oversized clothes anymore. (Used to be a size 10 now I am down to 6/8.) I'm still learning on the portion control though, I have my good days and bad days, but at least if I do binge its on the healthy items. ( fruits/veggies/protiens) I've learned not to rely on the scale so much, though I'm so tired of seeing it bouce back and forth between 127 and 130.

Bottom line is I just don't feel happy still on my own skin. What's fustrating is that I have muscle due to all my years in physical labor, I can see definition in my abs, arms, and legs. However its all covered in hideous fat and stretch marks when I look at myself in the mirror. I'm a pear shape. I know there are some people that would be estatic if they were my size and I feel selfish for saying I feel fat. Its just how I feel.