General Diet Plans and Questions General diet questions, support for various diet plans other than those listed below.

Old 05-07-2010, 10:38 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 240/212.0/170

Height: 5'10"

Default Calorie Burn "Lifestyle Activity Level"

Hi everyone!

I have a quick question regarding calorie use just on a day to day basis.

I'm a bit of a noob at this whole calorie counting thing. I've been working out really religiously (6-7 days a week) for the past 6 weeks and I've only had a ~7 pound weight loss. I feel more fit, but the numbers aren't going down and that frustrated me, so i decided to start trying to calculate my calorie intake for the day for about a week so I could get an idea of what exactly I'm eating and burning.

I use FitDay. It's telling me that since I am mostly seated throughout the day with some movement, I burn 3080 calories daily. ????

Then when I add in my 30-60 minutes of TurboJam (I use Aerobics-high impact, btw...nothing else seems to match.) daily that ups the number of calorie burned by 275-550 (which is chump change really compared to the number I burn just working. )

So that means if I eat 2000 calories, theoretically, I should still be losing weight, right? That 3000 calories is really confusing me. If I burn that much by just living life, what need is there to exercise? I should be losing 1 pound every ~4 days, no? But I'm not.

Also, where do you think I should limit my calories to lose the maximum amount of weight in the shortest time SAFELY, of course? I'm 25 years old. 5 foot 10 inches. I weight ~233 pounds. I work out 6-7 days a week at least 30 minutes doing cardio and/or weights.

I appreciate any insight into my confusion. Thanks alot!

Last edited by HopefulAgain; 05-07-2010 at 10:40 AM.
HopefulAgain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 12:10 PM   #2  
drifting downward!

S/C/G: (HW 194) 175/168/140

Height: 5'5 1/2"

Seven pounds in a month is actually a very good loss -- be proud of that!!