Living Maintenance general maintenance topics and discussions

Old 04-17-2010, 03:20 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 286/157 (briefly) 170-180ish

Height: 5"9

Default I am Changing My Goal!!! (I think?)

AAAAGH, so, I have been bouncing around 160 to 164 for a couple of months, and my main goal has always been 154.

I have read through all the maintainers threads about picking a goal, and when you get there a goal picking you... and then a lot of the ladies who surpassed their goals significantly. It is obviously a very individual choice, and everyone is different, but I read very few where people settled at higher than their original goals - have any of you done this??

As with most people, my goal was set arbitrarily, and at 286 I don't think I truly believed I would get near here anyway ( but picked as mid range BMI, and a number that sounded just about ok to say out loud - maybe with a bit of editing down to 150 if talking to a boy!!!)

But here I am, and I am mentally exhausted with 'trying to lose weight'.
I recognise that maintaining is going to be probably even harder - at least at first - but it is a new challenge, and I feel ready to start a new phase.

The problem is that I am so stubborn, and that I had that goal of 11 stone (154) the whole way, and it feels like I have failed if I don't reach it...

I suppose I picked 154 also to give myself that wiggle room of the 4 or 5 lbs, up to 158 - 159, but never back in the 160's.
Here I am at 159, and I suppose in reality my max weight preference now is 158, so should I just allow myself to breathe and chenge my goal to 158, given that this is my max weight allowance in my head?
Any advice is most welcome on this ladies...

It is such a head-melt...those 4 or 5lbs really aren't going to make a huge diference in my appearance, and certainly not in my health, but there it is that goal weight flashing in my head all the time....