Whole Foods Lifestyle - Grow My Own Vegetables?

View Full Version : Grow My Own Vegetables?

angelskeep
04-07-2010, 08:39 PM
Can I do that? I've never tried before, at least not since I was a kid, but I
'm kind of thinking I'd like to give it a try this year. I was thinking...spinach of course, mixed leaf lettuce and maybe zucchini. Can all these be grown in containers? Does anyone know if deer will eat the zucchini or leave them alone? And I'll grow herbs of course. I used to do that in Denver, but never since I've lived here. I LOVE to cook with fresh herbs! And make applemint tea!!!

Has anyone tried those thingies for growing tomatoes upside down?

Barb

astrophe
04-07-2010, 09:04 PM
I do square foot gardening in raised beds and self watering containers.

http://faq.gardenweb.com/faq/sqfoot/

If you are looking mainly at herbs and greens, you might try a salad table.

http://www.hgic.umd.edu/_media/documents/hg601.pdf
A.

Get n healthy
04-07-2010, 09:16 PM
I grow a few veggies and herbs. I have had great luck with zucchini and we have bunnies, but no deer though. The upside down tomatoes work well, or at least my mom's did last summer. Green peppers are an easy one for pots too and they are SO expensive at my grocery store right now ($1.99 per pepper YIKES). Sugar snap peas do great in a container too, but i dont know if the deer will eat them or not, i have to do mine in a pot to keep the bunnies away from them. Strawberries are pretty in a pot too.

Good luck!
Stacy

angelskeep
04-07-2010, 09:27 PM
I can put a lot of stuff in the back yard where the deer can't get to it, but was thinking about putting some out front. On my way to check out those links.

Thanks!

Barb

Hyacinth
04-07-2010, 10:01 PM
My local farmers' market sells a growing mixed-greens lettuce bowl.