Old 03-20-2010, 06:48 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 330/274/200

Height: 5'8"

Question Not meeting daily recommended calories?!

I'm new to counting calories, and while admittedly I'm just using it as a guideline, I find myself falling short of my recommended calorie intake every day. I never thought this would happen, though I'm glad I'm under rather than over, but what I want to know if what the effect will be over time? Is this how I risk burning muscle rather than fat? What can I do to try to get closer to my target?

For reference: according to The Daily Plate I should aim for 2500 to lose 2lbs a week, though my doctor has agreed that on days when I'm not working out if I come in around 2000 that should be fine, and I've heard from a friend who lost 140 pounds himself that he went for closer to 1800 on non-workout days. Does anyone have any knowledge or advice they can share? Thanks.
neonwildflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 08:29 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 234/154.4/120

Height: 5'6

My opinion is to eat as much as you can get away with to lose those 2 lbs per week.

Think of it this way... the more you eat now, when you end up having to drop down your calories (which you will) to adjust to your new weight, you'll be able to eat more then... and on and on.

Try adding some calorie dense foods like peanut butter or avocado.
FreeSpirit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 09:07 PM   #3  

Height: 5'8

The Daily Plate is like anything else, just an estimate. There's really no sure fire way to know that you will lose weight at x amount of calories. I would give it a shot though, if you can eat that amount and still lose weight I would take advantage of it! In my experience though most women have to stay below 2200 to produce a steady two pound per week weight loss @ your current weight. As your weight decreases, so will the amuont that you can eat OR your activity will have to increase. Just make sure you get a good variety of foods in there!!