Exercise! - Shin pain when running

View Full Version : Shin pain when running

angee phalangee
11-22-2009, 09:25 PM
I've been starting to run for the past 2 months or so, and I absolutely love it. The only problem is that I have pretty rough pains in my shins when I run. Is there something I'm doing wrong that's causing them to hurt? Is there any way to avoid the pain and avoid getting splints?

algebraashley
11-22-2009, 10:44 PM
there are a few exercises one can do to prevent shin splints

http://www.fitsugar.com/6123417

Aclai4067
11-22-2009, 11:00 PM
Def. try those foot tapping exercises. That's what my sister's trainer told her to do when she was training for her 1/2 marathon. I've been told good shoes can make a difference as well.

Ilene
11-22-2009, 11:10 PM
Here's another link: Prevent and Treat Shin Splints (http://walking.about.com/cs/medleg/ht/htshinsplints.htm)... My MacAfee would not let me go to the other link....

kittycat40
11-22-2009, 11:12 PM
Thanks for the link! The other day I had one of those fabulous runs, even told a friend how awesome it was. Sure'nuff had me some sore shins the next day....

I will practice the lifts at my desk tomorrow :)

AR4life
11-23-2009, 01:10 AM
I agree, the toe taps worked for me and a good pair of running shoes. :)

angee phalangee
11-23-2009, 09:21 PM
Thanks so much for the links! I'm definitely going to start trying those special exercises.

In terms of good running shoes...what makes one better than another? I have some asics that I wear for everything, but I don't know that they're necessarily "running" shoes. What makes the difference?

Aclai4067
11-23-2009, 09:51 PM
Asics should be pretty good, most runners I've talked to swear by them. The other key to good running shoes is getting fitted for the proper shoe. I don't know what stores you have around you. Here we have Fleet Feet. They measure your foot, and look at the way you walk/run to find the best shoe for you.

Ilene
11-24-2009, 12:07 AM