Goal! - Today I'm 45 and the smallest I've been in 30 years!

TamiL
11-02-2009, 04:56 AM
Today is my 45th birthday. After many attempts and some short term success I decided in February that I wouldn't let another year go by as a fat girl. Today I weighed in at 118 (ok up a few pounds but under a bit of stress right now, grandma died Friday). I've been maintaining 114 to 120 for a few months right now. This is the smallest I've been since I was 14 or 15 years old.

Since February I've been on a low carb type diet, not Atkins specifically, but one where I don't eat pasta, rice, bread or most potatoes (I cheat and make homemade french fries occasionally). I gave up sugar (I am a candy freak) and fast food (this was the biggie). Within 3 months I was down 50 pounds. The rest has been falling off when I'm not looking. I am totally amazed at how fast a change can be made, even by us old gals, just by simply changing the way we eat and the way we think about eating.

So here I sit, 45 years old now, and I have reached a goal that I never thought was possible at my age. My husband asked what I wanted for my birthday.....I told him that the ladies at 3FC have already given me the best present that I could of dreamed of. I wish to thank everyone for their words of wisdom and encouragement in this journey. I could never have done this without my daily visits to this site. You ladies (and gents) are wonderful, take a bow!:carrot::carrot::carrot:

I plan on staying active here for a long time to go, this site keeps me motivated and honest. Your successes are my successes and vice versa! I love you all:hug:

LittleMoonRabbit
11-02-2009, 07:17 AM
wow, I am so happy for you! That is amazing!!! Fantastic job!

LotusMama
11-02-2009, 09:16 AM
Congratulations on making such a significant change during the last year! You gave yourself the best gift ever.

Happy, Happy Birthday!

J

bargoo
11-02-2009, 09:21 AM