General chatter - I did it!! I passed my PhD! Greatest Goal of my Life!

Echo
09-30-2009, 09:17 AM
Sorry this is a long post, if you actually get through it, you are a total superstar!!! and I thank you :hug:

Monday the 28th of September 2009, was THE most important day of my ENTIRE life. The day of my Viva PhD (a viva is an oral examination where you defend your thesis and you have 2 examiners who are experts in your field).

A little background:

I've been working on my PhD for the past 9 years. It has been a real battle and struggle, a huge mountain to climb. A dark cloud constantly over my head. I had to put so many things in my life on HOLD. Alot of sacrifices, everything was " i will do X Y Z after my PhD". It was always on my mind no matter where or what I was doing.

After my first year, i proved that the original project was wrong, so in my 2nd year, i had to start from scratch on another project. That project was to develop a new technology, which was much harder than we all anticipated. That was a huge struggle which took a total of 6 years! Constantly failing and starting again and again

Then in 2005, I thought of a new project with the help of a visiting professor at the time, I approached my supervisor that I really wanted to do this alongside my other project. With alot of hard work and determination, it proved successful. I then published my first paper in 2007. And then I published another paper in 2008.

2007 - I had to take on a full time job and work on my PhD at the same time, luckily it was in the same lab though.

Last year (2008) I officially left the lab and finished all my experiments.
I was working on my thesis, slow and steady. But during the summer of 2008 - I recieved a letter from the university- that I HAD to submit by the end of october - or i would FAIL.

>>If i did not hand it in by the deadline, it would be an automatic FAIL!